Hover over Words to Get the Meaning for Blogger and WordPress

blog

Retrieved Dec. 20, 2013

I’m working on a blogging project with my first-year high school students. During this experience, there are a lot of things that I have to learn. As a sharing fan, I decided to write a series of posts to document every skill I acquired and every tool I explored to accomplish the aims of this project and meet my students’ needs. Among many things that my students need is a way to find the meaning of the new words that they encounter in the required tasks. I thought of some ways like linking the class blog to an online dictionary, and embedding a Bing or Google widget to translate the whole site, but they didn’t work well with my students.

Today, I found a code that enables my students to hover over the difficult or new word to get its meaning while they are reading. I tried this code on both Blogger and WordPress and it worked well with me. To do this, please follow the steps below:

  • In the post you want to embed this feature, click the “HTML Tab” in Blogger and “Text Tab” in WordPress.
  • Copy the following code and paste it there: 
  • <span style=”cursor:help;” title=”DEFINITION“>WORD</span>
  • Highlight “WORD” and write the word you want to translate.
  • Highlight “DEFINITION” and write the meaning of this word in the language you want.
  • Go to the “Compose” mode in Blogger or”Visual” mode in WordPress and hover over the word to see what will happen.
  • Here is an example:

Hover over Words WordPressI hope this tip would be helpful!

If you have more ideas about how to get the meaning of new words while reading, please share them with me.

Leave a Reply

